Sign in to follow this  
Binith Nair

ISO, CMMI And Six Sigma Methodologies

Hi All,

How can i differenciate ISO, CMMI and Six Sigma between each other by their

1) primary & secondary Objectives

2) Methodologies

3) Certification process

I have gone through many documents and processess but i hardly able to explain the same to a layman since i'm not an expert.

Hi Binith,

A detailed explanation of differences is not possible to write here due to limitations of time and space. To put it in simple words ISO,CMMI & Six Sigma are primarily 3 distinct approaches for improving Quality of Products and Services by organizations.

1) ISO 9001 2008 : 

Scope : This International Standard Specifies requirements for a Management system where an organization

a) Needs to demonstrate its ability to provide product that meets customer and applicable statutory and regulatory requirements and

B) Aims to enhance customer satisfaction through the effective application of the system including processes for continual improvement of the system and the assurance of conformity to customer and applicable statutory and  regulatory requirements.

It is a generic standard & can be applied to many types of industries /organization e.g. Manufacturing , Service, Healthcare , Banking , Process etc . regardless of type of product / service and size of organization.

Compliance to requirements of ISO 9001 2008 is periodically checked , audited & certified by an competent , independent third party agency e.g. TUV, BVQI etc.

2) Capability Maturity Model Integration (CMMI) is a process improvement  approach whose goal is to help organizations to improve their performance. CMMI can be used to guide process improvement across a project, a division, or an entire organization.