Sign in to follow this  
pmalvank

Six Sigma in Training

Hi All,

I have been alloacted a Six Sigma project to investigate the effectiveness of training program, i.e impact of training on performance.

I am new to the Six Sigma journey, if anyone has completed such project, could you please provide some insights

Do we need to link each training program with task or process.

Need some help.

Regards

Priya Ghate

Dear Priya,

If only effectiveness of a trg pgm needs to be assessed then rather than taking it as six sigma project, you just carry out the paired t test on trainees performance (before and after performance) for a suitable duration.

But if you need to improve upon the training process itself then probably doing a project around it would make a sense.

Thank you very much for your response Shalini and VK. As of now I just need to study the effectiveness of training program and measure performance before and after training.

Since this is a budding department in my office we do not have much data in system. But I am also working to develop the existing application to get the requisite details.

I need some guidance on what can be measured, what enhancements can be done.

Do I need to link each training program to the task in system and then build reports for analysis or paird t test

Your help is appreciated!

Regards

Priya

Hi Priya,

A six sigma project or any improvement  strategy on the effectiveness of Training on the performance defenitely provides a great scope of learning and can be replicated to other cross funtional departments as the scope of training is quite common across functions, therefore please make sure that you have all the relevant data first and then proceed.

Secondly an easy way to improve the training performance would be to do a Cause and Effect Diagram which will help you identify the key inputs which hamper the performance like Training Contents, Trainer Skills and Knowledge, training methodology etc.